Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung

EU Approves Plan to Make Online Application for Schengen Visa

February 3, 2023, 04.57 PM - Members of the European Union Parliament (MEPs) have approved a plan to modernize the visa application procedures in the Schengen area by moving from physical applications and visa stickers to a digital system on Tuesday, Jan. 31.

According to a report on, the EU Parliament said that digital visa applications would speed up the process, reduce the efforts and costs required to make an application, and would promote security.

“By digitalizing the visa application process for the Schengen area, the proposal aims to reduce the costs and efforts required to make an application, while ensuring harmonious practices throughout Europe and improving its security,” quoted the statement of the EU Parliament.

By applying online, visa applications for the Schengen area would be processed in a single online platform which would let applicants know which country will receive their application.

Also readEU Hopes for Trade Pact with Indonesia within Two Years

MEPs also assured that certain visa applications do not get refused when they are filed from the same IP address, which may be the case in some areas that have poor internet connectivity. MEPs also argue that IP addresses should be processed or collected as part of the visa application.

It was previously reported that based on the MEPs, the report on the digitalization of visa procedures in the Schengen area was adopted with 34 votes in favor, five against, and 20 abstentions.

The EU Parliament is now expected to announce the inter-institutional negotiations on the file. If there are no objections, negotiations on the final details can begin.

Also readForeigners Can Now Apply for Electronic Visa on Arrival to Enter Indonesia

A Schengen visa is a short-stay visa that allows a person to travel to any member of the Schengen Area for tourism or business purposes up to 90 days per stay.

The Schengen zone includes the 27 countries that have signed the Schengen agreement, which allows citizens of member countries to travel within the zone freely without passing through passport and border control. Croatia has recently joined the Schengen zone of Jan. 1, 2023.

The member countries of the Schengen zone, among others, comprise Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and Norway.

(Writer: Ni Nyoman Wira Widyanti | Editor: Ni Nyoman Wira Widyanti)


Simak breaking news dan berita pilihan kami langsung di ponselmu. Pilih saluran andalanmu akses berita WhatsApp Channel : Pastikan kamu sudah install aplikasi WhatsApp ya.

Comment wisely and responsibly. Comments are entirely the responsibility of the commentator as regulated in the ITE Law
Thank You! We have received your report. We will remove comments that conflict with the Community Guidelines and the ITE Law.

More Headlines

April 14, 2023, 12.38 PM

Indonesia Detects New Covid Arcturus Variant

Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung


Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Close Ads