November 19, 2021, 03.58 PM
An image of lunar eclipse seen from Plaosan Temple, Prambanan, Central Java on Wednesday, May 26, 2021. KOMPAS.com/GARRY LOTULUNGAn image of lunar eclipse seen from Plaosan Temple, Prambanan, Central Java on Wednesday, May 26, 2021.


KOMPAS.comStargazers in Indonesia can see the longest lunar eclipse of this century, which will last three hours and 28 minutes on Friday, November 19.

The National Institute of Aeronautics and Space (Lapan) said that 97.85 percent of the moon would be covered by the Earth’s umbra. The peak of the eclipse will take at 4.02 pm Western Indonesia Time, or 5.02 pm Central Indonesia Time, or 6.02 pm Eastern Indonesia Time.

A partial lunar eclipse occurs when the Earth does not completely block the sun. When it happens, part of the moon's surface enters the penumbral and the other part gets the light.

Also readRing of Fire Solar Eclipse to be Visible from Indonesia on June 21

In Indonesia, the lunar eclipse will start at 1 pm Western Indonesia Time or 2 pm Central Indonesia Time, or 3 pm Eastern Indonesia Time. However, no region in the country can witness the penumbral phase as it is still below the horizon and has yet been risen.

The next phase of the partial lunar eclipse begins at 2.18 pm Western Indonesia Time, or 3.18 pm Central Indonesia Time, or 4.18 pm Eastern Indonesia Time. This early phase will also not be visible throughout Indonesia. Only some parts of Indonesia can witness the peak of the eclipse.

Where to see the lunar eclipse

The peak of the lunar eclipse can be seen from West Papua province (except Raja Ampat regency), Papua province, and some areas in Maluku province such as Tual, Southeast Maluku regency, and Aru regency.

Also readIndonesia Weather Agency Warns of Tide Flooding in Coastal Areas due to Lunar Eclipse

The last phase of the eclipse begins at 5.47 pm Western Indonesia Time, or 6.47 pm Central Indonesia Time, or 7.47 pm Eastern Indonesia time. Almost all regions in the country can witness the last phase of the eclipse. This includes Papua island, Maluku, Sulawesi, Kalimantan, Nusa Tenggara, Madura, Bali, some areas in Java and Riau island, Bangka Belitung province.

To see the lunar eclipse, no binocular or telescope is needed. Members of the public can also watch it online via https://www.bmkg.go.id/gerhana.

(Writer: Ahmad Naufal Dzulfaroh | Editor: Rizal Setyo Nugroho)

Source: https://www.kompas.com/tren/read/2021/11/19/133000665/gerhana-bulan-19-november-2021-jam-berapa-ini-jadwal-dan-cara-melihatnya?page=all.

 

Dapatkan update berita pilihan dan breaking news setiap hari dari Kompas.com. Mari bergabung di Grup Telegram "Kompas.com News Update", caranya klik link https://t.me/kompascomupdate, kemudian join. Anda harus install aplikasi Telegram terlebih dulu di ponsel.



Comment wisely and responsibly. Comments are entirely the responsibility of the commentator as regulated in the ITE Law
Report
Thank You! We have received your report. We will remove comments that conflict with the Community Guidelines and the ITE Law.

More Headlines

News
November 30, 2021, 02.43 PM

New Omicron Variant Detected in More Countries

Business
November 25, 2021, 02.44 PM

Indonesia to Produce Electric Cars in March 2022

News
November 19, 2021, 03.58 PM

Partial Lunar Eclipse Visible from Indonesia

Close Ads X