June 19, 2020, 01.12 PM

The peak of the annular eclipse will be varied in each region. The first peak of the eclipse will occur in Sabang, Aceh at 2:34 pm western Indonesia time. The last peak will take place in Agats, Papua at 5:37 pm eastern Indonesia time.

The last contact will begin in Tais, Bengkulu at 3:06 pm western Indonesia time and the last contact will end in Melonguane, North Sulawesi at 5:31 pm central Indonesia time.

The eclipse’s shortest three minutes and 17 seconds will occur in Kepanjen, East Java and the longest duration of two hours 27 minutes and 11 seconds will be seen from Sabang, Aceh.

Also read: Indonesias Covid-19 Cases Near 40,000-Mark

In general, the time and place of an eclipse can be predicted. In predicting its global return, eclipses are grouped into a cycle which is known as the Saros cycle.

Under Saros cycles, eclipses will reoccur almost every 18 years, 11 days, and eight hours. This weekend’s annular eclipse will become the thirty-sixth member of 70 members in the 137 Saros Cycle. Though it can be predicted, annular eclipses do not repeat at any given location in a certain cycle.

The partial annular eclipse will be seen in 432 cities and regencies in 31 provinces across Indonesia.

When and where to see the annular eclipse in Indonesia:

1. Aceh (it will peak at 2:40 pm WT)
2. North Sumatera (it will peak at 2:48 pm WT)
3. West Sumatera (it will peak at 2:54 pm WT)
4. Riau (it will peak at 2:57 pm WT)
5. Bengkulu (it will peak 2:59 pm WT)
6. Jambi (it will peak at 3:00 pm WT)
7. Riau Island (it will peak at 3:06 pm WT)
8. South Sumatera (it will peak at 3:04 pm WT)
9. Lampung (it will peak at 3:07 pm WT)
10. Bangka Belitung (it will peak at 3:10 pm WT)
11. West Java (it will peak at 3:14 pm WT)
12. Central Java (it will peak at 3:18 pm WT)
13. East Java (it will peak at 3:21 pm WT)
14. West Kalimantan (it will peak at 3:17 pm WT)
15. Central Kalimantan (it will peak 3:22 pm WT)
16. South Kalimantan (it will peak at 4:25 pm CT)
17. East Kalimantan (it will peak at 4:26 pm CT)
18. North Kalimantan (it will peak at 4:25 pm CT)
19. Bali (it will peak 4:24 pm CT)
20. West Nusa Tenggara (it will peak at 4:27 pm CT)
21. East Nusa Tenggara (it will peak at 4:27 pm CT)
22. West Sulawesi (it will peak at 4:29 pm CT)
23. South Sulawesi (it will peak at 4:30 pm CT)
24. Central Sulawesi (it will peak at 4:30 pm CT)
25. Southeast Sulawesi (it will peak at 4:32 pm CT)
26. Gorontalo (it will peak at 4:31 pm CT)
27. North Sulawesi (it will peak at 4:32 pm CT)
28. North Maluku (it will peak at 5:34 pm ET)
29. Maluku (it will peak at 5:35 pm ET)
30. West Papua (it will peak at 5:36 pm ET)
31. Papua (it will peak at 5:37 pm ET).

On June 21, the annular eclipse is not visible from:


Comment wisely and responsibly. Comments are entirely the responsibility of the commentator as regulated in the ITE Law
Thank You! We have received your report. We will remove comments that conflict with the Community Guidelines and the ITE Law.

More Headlines

August 8, 2022, 09.07 AM

ASEAN Wraps Up Foreign Ministers Talks

August 5, 2022, 10.13 PM

China Begins to Ship Bullet Trains to Indonesia

August 3, 2022, 02.03 PM

ASEAN Warns Myanmar Against More Executions

Close Ads