Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
April 6, 2022, 03.25 PM

JAKARTA, – Indonesia has expanded its visa-on-arrival program to more countries and reimposed visa-free entry for Southeast Asian tourists on Wednesday, April 6, resulting in the immediate cancellation of the two previous circulars on immigration facilities and visitor visas for tourism.

With the issuance of the new policy by the country’s Directorate General of Immigration, foreigners from nine countries in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) region can travel to Indonesia with visa-free entry, while visas on arrival for tourism will be given to foreigners from 34 countries. Previously, only foreign tourists from 23 countries could apply for the visa on arrival program.

The move was made to promote the tourism sector and in consideration of the decline of Covid-19 infections in the country.

The new circular mentioned that foreign tourists are only allowed to enter Indonesia from 19 designated checkpoints. “Currently, seven airports, eight seaports, and four cross-border posts have been chosen as the points of entry for visa-free entry and visa-on-arrival tourists,” said director of immigration traffic Amran Aris in a statement on Tuesday, April 4.

Also readIndonesia Resumes Visa-Free Entry for Tourists from Southeast Asian Countries

“Following the policy, they can’t enter the country from other checkpoints. But, they can leave the country from any of the checkpoints,” he added.

He went on to add that upon arrival foreign tourists are required to provide their six-month passport rule, proof of a return ticket or onward tickets to another country, receipt of the visa on arrival, and other documents that follow the health protocols set by the Covid-19 Task Force, including travel insurance.

“Based on Government Regulation (PP) No. 28/2019 [on types and rates on non-taxes state revenue], the tariff for visa on arrival for tourism costs 500,000 Indonesian rupiahs [$35],” Amran said.

The visa on arrival for tourism can be extended to another 30 days at the nearest immigration office to the location where the foreigner stays in Indonesia.

“Foreigner nationals who are proven to have misused their residence permits will be subject to immigration sanctions. Besides, if they are proven to have violated health protocols and public order, they will be subject to sanctions in accordance with laws and regulations,” said Amran.


Comment wisely and responsibly. Comments are entirely the responsibility of the commentator as regulated in the ITE Law
Thank You! We have received your report. We will remove comments that conflict with the Community Guidelines and the ITE Law.

More Headlines

April 14, 2023, 12.38 PM

Indonesia Detects New Covid Arcturus Variant

April 5, 2023, 05.16 PM

ASEAN to Finalize Agreement on EV Ecosystem

Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung


Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Close Ads