Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Tentukan Pilihanmu
0 hari menuju
Pemilu 2024
November 30, 2021, 02.43 PM - The new omicron variant of the coronavirus, first identified in South Africa, is spreading to more countries, leading the World Health Organization to warn of perils ahead and sparking some countries to widen their calls for booster shots.

Spain became the latest country Monday, November 29, to detect the new Covid-19 variant after Portugal said it had detected 13 cases, all involving players and staff of top division soccer club Belenenses SAD, one of whom recently returned from South Africa.

Other countries that have confirmed cases of the omicron variant include Canada, Scotland, Australia, the Netherlands, Austria, and Sweden.

Also readCovid-19 Pandemic Could Cost Global Tourism $2 Trillion: UN reports

WHO Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus told a special session of the World Health Assembly in Geneva, “This pestilence – one that we can prevent, detect and treat – continues to cast a long shadow over the world.”

Omicron’s very emergence is another reminder that although many of us might think we are done with Covid-19, it is not done with us,” Tedros said Monday. “We are living through a cycle of panic and neglect. Hard-won gains could vanish in an instant. Our most immediate task, therefore, is to end this pandemic.”

The WHO said the overall global risk related to the omicron variant “is assessed as very high” although no deaths have been linked to it.

The threat of the variant prompted both the United States and Britain to recommend Monday that all adults get Covid-19 booster shots.

In the United States, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention had previously approved booster shots for all adults but only recommended them for those age 50 and older or those who were at high risk for the disease.

Also readMerck’s Covid-19 Antiviral Pill Expected to Arrive in Indonesia Next Month

Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Source VOA News

Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Comment wisely and responsibly. Comments are entirely the responsibility of the commentator as regulated in the ITE Law
Thank You! We have received your report. We will remove comments that conflict with the Community Guidelines and the ITE Law.

More Headlines

Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung
Close Ads
Baca berita tanpa iklan. Gabung